To life!

The Graduate

Posted on: April 9, 2010

Awww, would you look at him, I can’t help gushing! Yes, my baby graduated, officially, on March 13, the morning after I arrived in Ghana. A word to the university authorities–the Vice-Chancellor and cohorts–it is totally unacceptable to have a graduation that begins at 8 a.m., eight in the morning! It was still three a.m. back in America and I had to get up at the crack of dawn Ghana time. Not that it was difficult. The swish-swishing of the maids’ brooms, blaring of cars and the chirping of a thousand birds made for an effective alarm clock.

The less said about the ceremony itself the better. Since when did a graduation become about the history of the university? The Vice-Chancellor droned on and on for a good two hours, methinks, while I dozed on and off, steaming under a canopy. Bored, the would-be graduates got up and sat with family and friends, walked up and down the canopies, taking pictures and stirring up the dust, so much I could taste the grit in my mouth. I looked around desperately for my son, but being the good guy, he was sitting somewhere stoically listening to every word. So I had to wait until it was over before I could clasp him to me and smother him with kisses.

By the way, I never saw him get his diploma. There were so many students that I thought I’d wait to hear his name first. In a truly Ghanaian style, the dean, who couldn’t pronounce his name just called him Kweku Adjapon. I didn’t realize it was he because many peopleย were namedย “Kweku”, which is for a boy born on Wednesday. Not that it would have made a difference, he told me that as soon as they started calling out names, all the graduates charged ahead in no particular order, so the students shaking hands were not those being called! But no matter, it was a most wonderful day to see him get to this age, after everything I went through to raise him. Happy day! Here are more pictures:

Spying from behind the dais, waiting for my son to receive his diploma

Crowds celebrating, family and friends

Tolu's friends and his girlfriend

Tolu and his wonderful cousin Ebow. The heat won and he removed cap and gown ๐Ÿ™‚

In my business taking pictures, I forgot myself. Here's a rare one of Tolu and me. Of course, everyone made fun of me for gaining twenty pounds in one year ๐Ÿ™‚

12 Responses to "The Graduate"

I guess the students did the exchange of certificates according to names afterward. Eight o’ clock is a strange hour for a graduation. ๐Ÿ™‚ Feel your pride!

Actually, Tolu told me the students received empty folders! The certificates were given to them later :). Yes, I’m soooo proud of him :).

By the way, what’s with your blog? I can’t comment. The comment thing won’t open.

Bisi

What a beautiful boy, Bisi! I looked at all of the pictures, and they were wonderful. And what a proud Mama you clearly are! And for good reason. Congrats to him on his accomplishments and you tell him for me–I wish him all the happiness in the world.

I’m so glad you got to visit him!

Jeni ๐Ÿ˜‰

Love the photos. Your boy looks great! So handsome. I love the look of Ghana you give us.

ann

Graduation congrats to Tolu and his proud mama! ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish him every success and happiness in life.

Thanks a lot! Does the pride show? ๐Ÿ˜†

OMG, I love this sweetie. Great pictures! It looks like you had fun. I want to hear more about it. Call me this week, please. ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks a lot, Marc. TTYL.

Such wonderful pictures! I’m glad you made it in time for the graduation, your son looks fantastic! ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks! It was by God’s grace I was able to make it; I almost missed it!

Leave a Reply

