To life!

The Shuwaa Boys

Posted on: April 12, 2010

A few days after the graduation, I got to hang out with the “Shuwaa” boys. Don’t ask me what that word means, I couldn’t tell you. But that’s what Tolu and his three close friends in Ghana call themselves. Unfortunately, the fourth one is in the U.K., missing out on all the fun (Hi, Enoch) šŸ™‚

Bright and Tolu, while waiting for our orders at a restaurant in Sarbah Hall

Dennis, Bright and Tolu, saying hello to Enoch

There's nothing like Fufu and light soup with goat and fish!

Digging into his rice and chicken stew

Finger-sucking good, no metal to interfere with the yummy taste šŸ™‚

Ā 

With the witty one, Akua Baning

The three graduates, Bright, Tolu and Dennis. So proud of them. giddy giddy SHUWAAAA!!

20 Responses to "The Shuwaa Boys"

this makes me so nostalgic! i miss the shuwaa boys and akua and ebo. such a complete crew šŸ™‚

I know what you mean! You’ll enjoy soon, mwa!

I know what you mean! Soon, you’ll enjoy too! mwa šŸ™‚

Lovely pictures! I know you must be bubbling with joy.

I can’t help it :). Thanks, Karla!

This is very nice, but its magnificance has been woefully undermined by my absence. Initially When you hinted these photographs where going to be posted for my benefited, I thought of making a perfect bonfire out of them. But seeing my boys, the joy and the awe of it overwhelmed me. Boy! do I want to cry. I… missed… my own graduation… šŸ˜¦ … sob..sob…sob…!!! And I will never have this moment again, even a ceremony after the Master degree will not compensate for this lose… sob..sob… šŸ˜¦ Anyway, I am happy my boys had fun. And yes graduated and we bloody deserve it.. A fist in the air for SHUWAA!!!! We rule!!! šŸ™‚
** I think Akua should go on a diet, She is quite in excess :D**

Hey, hey, hey! Lay off my girl Akua. She’s voluptious, and don’t forget that the camera always adds 15 pounds, which is why models have to be razor thin. šŸ™‚

I know what you mean, Enoch, I wished you were there; we talked about you all the time. Glad you’re too big to make a bonfire of their pictures. I’ll email you other graduation pictures.

Warmest hugs,
Bisi

That soup looks delicious! I would love to know the recipe. It looks similar to a soup found here in Mexico.

ann

It is! We use all kinds of meats: fresh fish, smoked fish, smoked goat, fresh goat, anything. You add salt, pepper, onions and garlic, steam it in it’s own juices, then add a little water to make a tasty broth. Add a little ground tomatoes and egg ,and then simmer until cooked. Hard to believe eggplant can taste so good, but it does!

thanks for dropping my place, Bisi. I have to run-off to attend to a family emergency, but will spend more time here when I get back. Just don’t you think I’m ignoring you.

Hope all is well. Thanks for stopping by.

mmm…i wanted to dig into that rice and chicken stew! Hahaha… šŸ˜‰ PS: you look just wonderful by the way, love the picture of you and the three graduates! šŸ˜€

Thanks, Romi, but you have no idea what the family did to me for having gained thirty pounds in two years, since they last saw me. I’m desperately trying to lose weight! Help!

You have got to be kidding me! That is the worst thing family can do šŸ˜¦ I have BEEN THERE…chapter 2 of my book, BEEN THERE! My friend and I were talking about the weight loss thing the other day at work, and it really boiled down to a couple of things:

-putting food into a small sized plate when you eat, and locking the rest away, vs. eating out of whichever container or package, because when you’ve got the whole container or package at your disposal, you sometimes eat more than you would’ve intended without realizing (that has been my downfall so many times!)

-doing physical activity you enjoy doing. Seriously. A couple of weeks ago I bought a racquet because my sister and her husband wanted to play tennis with me and my brother. I had only played tennis one other time 15 years prior, but…after the first 15 minutes of being terrible (haha šŸ™‚ ), I got the hang of it, and 30 minutes later after running around the court, I was sweating! I basically got the same amount of exercise I would from a rigorous (but boring) treadmill session, and I was having fun the whole time! šŸ˜‰

You can do it Bisi! But only do what you need to do to make YOU happy, not your family’s harsh standards šŸ˜‰

Actually, I’ve already lost fifteen pounds playing tennis everyday. I used to play regularly, even in tournaments. But when I returned to America two years ago, I stopped. Now I’m at it again. I love it. I can’t do gym or threadmill, but I love playing!

I wonder if he could move after eating that bowl of soup. I’d be dead to the world after that. šŸ™‚

Hahahaha! Not only was he not dead, he remains skinny. I hate the guy. šŸ™‚

That’s awesome! See you don’t need help, but maybe when I’M good enough at tennis I’ll get a chance to play with you šŸ˜‰

I’ll come to Canada and we’ll play!

Leave a Reply

